Sound Effect and Music Choices and Justifications

The first type of music I will be using is upbeat music, so as to show how well women were doing in the film industry before the late 1920s and invention of sound in film. For this I will be using a copyright free silent film score found online, called “Hypermusic” (Incompetech.com, 2014). This is because I think it is a fairly playful and happy song, and will capture the feel of what the industry was like during those years. It will then go into another copyright free silent film score called “Iron Horse-distressed”(Incompetech.com, 2014),  which will not be played for long, but long enough to suggest that something has gone badly from the initial film system to when the Hollywood studio system first takes over. I will also use the famous “Dun dun dun” sound effect (YouTube, 2012)  when this is first announced, in keeping with the tone of the infographic up to that point. I will then start using another copyright free song called “Oppressive Gloom”  (Incompetech.com, 2014) which seems appropriate as a lot of the infographic has to do with the oppression of women in film, but I will not use this for the rest of the infographic, as there are positive influences and statistics along with the negative ones, which call for a song more like the copyright free “Perspectives”(Incompetech.com, 2014),  which is a calm but uplifting song, which will show that there is some hope for women in the film industry yet. I would especially like to use this for information about current organisations that help women get into the film industry.

I do not intend to use many sound effects, other than the initial Dun, dun, dun one which I previously stated. This is because, although I do want aspects of the infographic to be upbeat, I would mainly like to portray it as authentic, and I think the animation and music, along with my script, will be enough to do this without the use of sound effects. However, I like the drama of the sound effect that I am using, and the fact that it is recognised for such, and so I think it will be appropriate to use in my infographic without undermining the message.

Reference List:

Incompetech.com, (2014). Royalty Free Music. [online] Available at: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/?genre=Silent%20Film%20Score [Accessed 22 Dec. 2014].

Incompetech.com, (2014). Royalty Free Music. [online] Available at: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?feels%5B%5D=Mysterious&feels%5B%5D=Somber [Accessed 22 Dec. 2014].

Incompetech.com, (2014). Royalty Free Music. [online] Available at: http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free/index.html?feels%5B%5D=Uplifting&page=1 [Accessed 22 Dec. 2014].

YouTube, (2012). DUN-DUN-DUUUUN!!! Sound Effect. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bW7Op86ox9g [Accessed 22 Dec. 2014].

Leave a Reply

